Kresge Research Guides: Career Resources at Kresge Library: News

ABI/Inform and Business Source

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM contains articles from thousands of newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, Barron’s, the Economist, and the New York Times. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
- Help Guide
Email and RSS feed alerts available.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete contains articles from thousands of newspapers, trade publications, and key business magazines such as the Harvard Business Review. It also contains papers from leading academic journals across all major business disciplines.
- Help Guide
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Business Source Complete."

Search Recommendations for ABI/Inform and Business Source Complete

Select Advanced Search menu to target company research

Type company name. Select Company in right menu
Select Abstract or All Text to expand search results

Add to the company name one of the following terms in the Subject or Abstract fields or consult the database thesaurus:

Business Plans (Subject)
Case study (Abstract)
Competition (Subject)
Complaints (Subject)
Corporate culture (Subject)
Employee (Subject) [retrieve employee attitude, employee benefits]
Five forces (Abstract) [retrieve Porter’s five forces analysis]
Interviews (Subject)
Innovations (Subject)
Litigation (Subject)
Market (Subject) [retrieve market share, market size]
Organizational structure

Performance (Subject) [retrieve financial performance, performance metrics, performance awards]
Planning (Subject)
Ratings & rankings (Subject)
Risk(Subject)
Strategic (Subject)
Studies (Subject) [ also retrieves case studies]
Studies (abstract)
Surveys (Subject)
SWOT (Subject)
Trends(Subject)
Work environment (Subject)

Factiva

Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Originally a joint-venture between Dow Jones and Reuters, Factiva contains articles from thousands of international newspapers and key business magazines such as the Wall Street Journal, Barron’s, Forbes, Newsweek, The New York Times, The Washington Post, Reuters Newswires, Dow Jones Newswires, and thousands of others.
Technical notes: Downloads are limited to 100 documents per PDF.
Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Factiva." Traders may not use this database.

For more effective search results:

Adjust Date menu to All Dates or Range.
Change Select Source Category menu to All Sources
Sort results by Most recent first or Relevance

Target and Limit search results. In search text box:

Use Boolean operators – And Or - and combine with other search terms
Select Company to locate company code. [i.e.fds=amzcom]
Or type hlp=company name [i.e. hlp=Amazon.com] Retrieves more relevant articles where the company is featured in the headline and lead paragraph

Locate interviews with company employees

ns=NITV - This is for subject type of an interview. In search box, type:

ns=NITV AND fds=amzcom will search for interviews featuring Amazon
CEO and ns=NITV will search for CEO interviews

Locate news transcripts featuring companies

ns=NTRA - This is for subject type of a transcript.

Type: ns=NTRA AND fds=amzcom will search for news transcripts featuring Amazon

Technical notes: Please log out of this resource as directed when finished. Failing to log out may prevent others from using the database. Downloads are limited to 100 documents per PDF.

Regional Business News (EBSCO)

Regional Business News (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IIncorporates business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Includes Crain's Detroit Business and Crain's Small Business (Southeastern Michigan), Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, and Westchester County Business Journal. A great place to look for business news in a particular city.

Use policy: When using material from this database in reports and presentations, vendor contract requirements dictate that you must include the phrase, "Used with permission of Regional Business News."
RSS feed alerts available.

LexisNexis Academic

Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines. Here you will also find federal and state legal cases and some patent information.